PREDATOR can display its messages in several languages. Choose your preferred language in this dropdown list.
PREDATOR supports multiple displays. If you check this option, all auxiliary monitors will be disabled when you unplug the key. If you connect an additional monitor while your session is disabled, PREDATOR will lock this monitor too. You should check this option even if you have no auxiliary monitor.
Uncheck this option if you want to lock your primary monitor only. If you connect an additional monitor, it will work normally. This is a potential vulnerability and you should know exactly why you are doing this.
If you check this option, you'll be forced to enter your password each time you try to open the Preferences window.
Check this box to enable the "Pause monitoring" item in the Contextual Menu. It is sometimes convenient to suspend monitoring if you want to remove your USB flash drive without locking your PC. However, you may forget to resume monitoring, leaving your PC unprotected. Unchecking this option will prevent this security risk.
You can disable the Exit option in Predator's menu by unchecking this box. If you also disable the "Pause monitoring option", the "Enable Task Manager" option, and choose to protect the Preferences with a password (see below), then PREDATOR will permanently monitor your PC.
PREDATOR can disable the Autorun functionality in Windows when you lock your session. By default, when a removable media (CD, DVD and some USB flash drives) that contains an Autorun program is inserted, the system automatically executes the program without requiring user intervention. This means that someone could mount a CD-Rom with an autorun program which would install malware in your PC while you are away. You can protect yourself against this threat with the "Disable Autorun" option. PREDATOR will restore the Autorun functionality (supposing you had not already disabled it through the Windows Control Panel) when you unlock your session.
This feature has some side effects discussed in the FAQ.
When this option is checked, PREDATOR pops-up a status message in the notification area each time you pause/resume monitoring. This reminder is useful if you unlock your session with the password (hence automatically pausing monitoring) and forget to resume monitoring afterwards.
Enable splash screen
This screen gives visual feedback to user during program initialization; uncheck this option if you prefer a quiet startup.
Enable Task Manager
Predator disables Windows Task Manager when your session is locked, to prevent intruders to kill the PREDATOR process.
If you check this box the Task Manager will be available when your session is not locked (i.e. when your USB key is plugged in). You can uncheck it to disable permanently the Task Manager while PREDATOR is running. This option should be used in conjunction with "Enable exit" to prevent an unwanted termination of the PREDATOR monitoring.
Hide desktop icons
Check this option, and PREDATOR will hide all your desktop icons when locking your session. They will be restored when you insert the USB key.
If you run Windows 10, the desktop wallpaper will be hidden too, leaving a black screen. Older versions of Windows still display the wallpaper.
Minimize all windows
Check this option, and PREDATOR will minimize all opened windows when locking your desktop. They will be restored when you insert the USB key. If you check both "Minimize all windows" and "Hide desktop icons" then your desktop will be empty when PREDATOR has locked your session. If you have set Screen darkness < 100 then your wallpaper and your Vista/Windows7 gadgets (if any) will be partly visible.
Once a week, PREDATOR will retrieve update information from our server and notify you if a new version is available. It is a good idea to run the most recent version of the software, as we improve it on a regular basis. Uncheck this setting if you don't want to be notified.
Enable screen shield
This field should be checked, except if you want to run a 3rd-party application (like PowerPoint Viewer) in full screen mode, and keep it visible when Predator has locked the session.
When it is unchecked, removing the USB key will lock the keyboard (all keys) and mouse (all buttons), but the dark shield, password dialog, and access denied warning will not be displayed in order to interfere as less as possible with the 3rd-party application upon locking the session
Notice that it is not possible to enter a password to unlock the session when the Screen shield is disabled.
Activate an application
Optionally Predator can activate a 3rd-party application just after it has locked the session.
Check it only if required. If your application runs smoothly when the session is locked, leave it unchecked.
Activation is required to keep slideshows running with PowerPoint Viewer, because the Viewer pauses the slideshow as soon as it loses the focus.
If "Activate an application" is checked you must enter the path of the application's .exe file into this text field, ; use the browsz button to do that.
For instance, on our Windows 7 x-64 test pc, PowerPoint Viewer's path is C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Office\Office14\PPTVIEW.EXE
Store in folder
Use the button next to this field to browse your filesystem and select the folder where PREDATOR will store the picture files it takes with your webcam. "My Pictures" is a good choice.
Picture files older than this number of days will be automatically deleted.
The default value for this field is "1" because most computers have a single webcam. If you have several webcams, enter the number of the one that PREDATOR should use.
Number of snapshots which will be taken on each triggering event (an alarm event, or a photo monitoring timed interval). Enter a value in the range 1 - 99.
Enter a number of seconds here. The software will wait this number of seconds before taking each snapshot. Many cameras require a delay to adjust their exposure and be ready to take a picture. 2 seconds is a safe value, adjust it for your own hardware. If you set a too short delay, no picture will be taken.
PREDATOR can take snapshots of your computer surroundings continuously, even when the keyboard and the mouse are inactive.
Picture files are stored in a folder, or exported by email or ftp.
Photo monitoring uses the Snapshots settings defined above.
- Disabled : do not perform any photo monitoring;
- When desktop is locked : PREDATOR performs photo monitoring when it has locked your desktop (either after removing the flash drive, or because of the scheduler);
- When desktop is unlocked : PREDATOR performs photo monitoring while your desktop is unlocked;
- Always : PREDATOR performs photo monitoring continuously.
Enter the number of seconds that PREDATOR will be waiting before taking the next snapshot (or the next group of snapshots if you have set Count > 1).